35 days free.

I'm interested in hiking part of the AT during the month of
October, and would love to get some advice as to where
are the better places to do so, taking weather into account,
but remembering that as I only have one month, I'd prefer
to be able to do the nicer parts of the trail (although I'm sure
each has his/her favorites).

I would like to avoid "hopping" around different shorter walks
using motorized transportation and stick to a 1-month walk.
I have some experience in hiking, but would like to avoid
getting rained/snowed on for the whole month.

Any advice is welcome.

Thanks!

MOWGLI
07-27-2003, 11:11
Well, you can never guarantee that you won't get rained on, but October is probably my favorite month to hike. There are tons of places. Here's 2 to consider.

You could start at Hot Springs, NC and hike south to Springer. That's about 270 miles, so you can average less than 10 miles a day. Of course, you could always take all kinds of side trails in Great Smoky Mountain Nat'l Park. The AT is great, but it ain't the be-all end-all. I would suggest hiking down into some of the cover forests in the park. The foliage should be choice!

Another plan would be to start in Erwin, TN and hike north into SW Virginia. Maybe you could hike all the way to Pearisburg. That gets you through both the Roan Highlands AND Grayson Highland in the Mount Rodgers National Recreation Area.

Either of those hikes would be outstanding. It could be cold at night on either of those hikes, but not nearly as cold as New England would be.

Whatever you choose, have fun!

Little Bear
GA-ME 2000

Taway
07-27-2003, 12:41
Originally posted by TNJED
Well, you can never guarantee that you won't get rained on, but October is probably my favorite month to hike. There are tons of places. Here's 2 to consider.