PDA

View Full Version : Glucosamine

Earl Grey
02-22-2007, 13:52
This supposedly helps cartilage rebuilding and helps the joints. This in conjunction with a knee brace might make walking downhill bearable. Does anyone use this?

Footslogger
02-22-2007, 13:55
Yes ...have been taking Glucosamine now for well over 3 years. Was beginning to develop minor pain/grinding after long walks/hikes. Notice a big difference in my knees. Less grinding and smoother through the full range of motion.

'Slogger

jlb2012
02-22-2007, 13:59
another thumbs up for glucosamine sulfate from me

Lone Wolf
02-22-2007, 14:05
i've been using it for a couple years. was training for an ultramarathon and my right knee was talkin' to me. i had major surgery on it 28 years ago. tore my ACL, PCL, MCL plus tore the cartilage. the stuff works

hammock engineer
02-22-2007, 14:06
I have taken it on and off. It helps, but I can never remember to take it daily.

A couple thoughts. From what I understand (I used to be big into suppliments for what its worth), it takes about 3 weeks or so to start feeling the effects. I saw a show that did a lab test on different brands. They did not find a big difference between the expensive brands and cheap brands. Just use your common sense here as suppliment's claims are not totally governed by the FDA.

A side thought. I put together a 2 weeks supply and weighed it. It is pretty heavy. That might be something you will want to buy along the way and not think you are going to carry a month's supply. I think the normal dose is 1 or 2,000 mg per day.

Look into ones that also contain Chondritium (bad spelling). Studies have shown this helps.

Hiking poles, pack weight, and going slow are major help to me when the knees or back are hurting.

Skidsteer
02-22-2007, 14:09
I've been taking it for about a year. I started taking it as a preventative because I thought my joints were in pretty good shape at the time. Glucosamine makes them feel even better.

Quoddy