PDA

View Full Version : New to the BakePacker

sleepwalker
02-22-2007, 18:54
:confused: I just recieved my bakepacker oven and I'm figuring out how to put it to good use. I'm hoping it'll add a little flare to my mountain menu. It was such an inexpensive item that I jumped into the purchase without examining the practicalities. It's kind of large which requires a larger pot than I currently carry. That's ok if the benefits are there.

My main question is two part: I currently use a snowpeak gigapower canister stove. It seems incredibly impractical in terms of fuel to use this stove. Is there a more preferable stove for this application? And...If I continue to use the gigapower, is it safe to keep it fired up for 20 minutes at a time?

I'm intersted in hearing about your experiences with this or other ovens. This is new territory for me and I'd like it to work out! Thanks!

RAT
02-22-2007, 20:28
I have carried and loved my bakepacker for many years but I have no knowledge of that particular stove, sorry.

RAT

Chef2000
02-22-2007, 20:35
I am pretty sure you are not suppose to use canister type stoves with your backpacker oven, im n ot sure its been years since I carried mine, check manufacturer directions it might suggetst best type of stove

Pringles
02-22-2007, 22:42
I see a couple of issues in play here.

Chef, I think you're thinking about the Outback oven, which is a gizmo you put over a pot, and use dry heat to bake things. In that instance, no, you shouldn't use it with a canister stove.

With a bakepacker, you put the thingie (that's a technical term, don't be trying to use big terms like that at home) in a pot with boiling water, and then put a plastic bag with food in it over the thingie and let the water boil for 20 minutes. I have a snowpeak giga, and have used my bakepacker with it many times. It isn't fuel efficient, though. I have no suggestion about a better stove, but the giga is ok to use with the bakepacker.