PDA

View Full Version : dehydrators

Joshrm78
02-26-2007, 15:26
I have never used a dehydrator before but was interested in which one u would recomend i was looking at http://www.nesco.com/products/?category=300&subcat=100&id=303 is there anything i should look for in paticular? I have no clue so any advice is appriciated. I will be dehydrating venison with it to if that matters.

Jim Adams
02-26-2007, 15:47
I have been dehydrating for years and there are so many different recipes, times, processes that you really need to take all of the advice that you can and experiment to see what works best for you but I have learned two important items that others have taught me over the years.
1. DO NOT buy a dehydrator that uses a light bulb for the heat source and...
2. you don't need the expense of a dehydrator that has variable heat settings...almost everything that you do with your dehydrator requires the same temps.
Experiment and have fun.
good luck,

geek

camich
02-26-2007, 15:54
I asked the same question about a year ago. We went with the Nesco Gardenmaster. It works great! We love it...plan of firin' it up this weekend for some new experiments.:sun :)

The Weasel
02-26-2007, 16:12
I did all of my drying - over 100 lbs of soy meat, fruits, rollups, veg, using my home oven. 150 degrees, items on saran wrap in a cookie sheet, move the items every 4-5 hours, usually done overnight. Remember to leave the oven door open 2-3 inches.

The Weasel

Cuffs
02-26-2007, 16:22
I went with Excalibur (http://www.excaliburdehydrator.com/) because of the timer. FYI, you can only buy an Excalibur with a timer directly from them, they do not market timed dehydrators to retailers.

Some will knock the timer saying its not needed. For the most part, I agree. However, because of my work and work schedule, I may or may not be home when its time to turn it off. The timer has paid for itself already because of that.

Cuffs
02-26-2007, 16:23