PDA

View Full Version : Northern VA during early April???

dscostu
03-02-2007, 13:47
Any good suggestions for early April (approx 30+ miles) in VA. I am a teacher and have spring break (oh yeah!!) My buddy lives in VA and we want to do a couple days in his state. I read that N. VA is a good start.(?) I was thinking about all of map 8 (Snickers Gap to Chester Gap).(???) I am new but motivated...what do ya got for me? I really appreciate all of you expertise! :confused:

Lone Wolf
03-02-2007, 13:51
Shenandoah Nat. Park

dscostu
03-02-2007, 14:04
Thanks Wolf! Why? Is it more isolated? Weather better? More scenic? What weather should I gear up for in early April in VA? Thanks again!!

Pedaling Fool
03-02-2007, 14:09
I second Shenandoah National Park (SNP). It is, imo, the easiest section of the AT - good for a break-in hike. It also has some great views and you'll have a good chance to see a lot of wildlife, such as deer, bear... Although, deer are not really "wildlife" in SNP.

dscostu
03-02-2007, 14:15
Thanks for the quick replies! Is there a specific part of SNP that are better than others. I happen to have the guide/maps for that section and will check it out tonight. I got to give props to the help that a new guy can get here! Thanks to all!

wallace
03-02-2007, 14:58
SNP is a great choice. There are a lot of blue blaze trails that offer some exceptional hikes. My favorite is a circuit hike titled Cedar Run/White Oak Canyons. As I recall, it is about 14 miles for the circuit. It descends down the cedar run canyon and then back up white oak canyon. White oak canyon has 6 water falls and cedar run has one.