PDA

View Full Version : Alcohol Hiking Container & Size

campbell
04-12-2007, 19:55
I just mail ordered an alcohol stove and purchased a quart can of denatured alcohol locally and I have no experience with either. I plan to experiment a little when I get the stove. My question is, what do most hikers carry their alcohol in and what would be the average size of the container when they hike? I am hiking from Springer to Hot Springs by myself and plan to resupply every 3 to 5 days. I am in fair to good shape for my age and plan to only cook an evening meal and coffee in the morning.

Thanks

SGT Rock
04-12-2007, 20:05
Well depending on the stove, you probably ought to plan to carry 2 ounces a day until you get used to how the stove works. So since you don't plan on going longer than 5 days, then 10 ounces minimum (for starters) would be my reccomendation. That said, go ahead an get a 12 ounce soda bottle (they are very common) and just fill it up - won't hurt to have a little extra. Then as you use it you can get use to exactly how much to take.

For me, I carry an 8 ounce soda bottle (that was a hard one to find) and that will last me a week to a week and a half depending on what I do for cooking each day.

Appalachian Tater
04-12-2007, 20:08
Carry your alcohol in a heavy soda bottle or a small bottle made of nalgene. I feel more comfortable with a nalgene bottle because a coke bottle can leak if compressed.

You can vary the amount of alcohol you carry depending on how much you use and how long until your next resupply. If you use one ounce twice a day, you would need from 6 to 10 ounces so a 10 or 12 ounce bottle would do, or maybe even an 8 ounce. Each stove is different so you have to experiment with your particular model. Personally I always like to have an extra day's worth of food and fuel.

Remember in cold weather or windy conditions you might use more fuel than you would experimenting at home.