PDA

View Full Version : Noob gear list...

The Owl
04-30-2007, 16:23
Hi everyone! I've been reading alot on here about EVERYTHING and I thank you all for all the info that's out here! I was wondering if anyone would want to take a peek at my gear list and see if there's something I'm missing or something I could leave out...I know it's what "I" need (or think I need! :) ), and I'm not a noob to camping or the outdoors, but I am a total noob at trying to get 23 pounds worth of stuff into a Gregory Advent pack. ;) I have some back issues, so as light as I can get it( and still carry a tent) is what I'm shooting for from the start...

Here's the list:

* Gregory Advent Pack - 2.5 lbs
* Sleeping bag 1.5 lbs +30deg. ( most of my hiking will be section hikes in the spring-summer-early fall)
* Kelty Tent 5.2 lbs ( I liked the Teton 2, but need something bigger - i'm not tall, but there's...uhhhmmm...alot of me. One reason for starting to hike...gravity is not my friend if you know what i mean. ;) )
* Thermarest pad
* Jetboil stove(single) 18.5oz.(w/ fuel canister)
* 1.5 pounds of grub
* First Need Purifier 1 lb
* clothes - aprox. 2.5 lbs including hats, xtra pair of heavy wool socks, and fleece pants for cold nights at 4000ft.
* misc gear bag ( headlamp, firestarter, matches, flyrod/reel(I'm a hard-core flyfisher, btw and this is what got me into hiking and backpacking)spork, chapstick, etc. )1.5 pounds (max. - maybe not that much actually...)
* medicine bag( I'm getting old....*sigh...) 6 oz.
* sunscreen( half used bottle) 3 oz
* bugspray(also half used) 6 oz

I think that's about 19 pounds. There must be something I'm leaving out, right? THat can't be right, with all the threads I've read about new folks carrying 40 lbs of gear? Maybe it's all those years of lightening up on car camping supplies( i've always liked to take as little as possible for whatever reason)?