PDA

View Full Version : Steri Pen

gold bond
05-09-2007, 11:38
A friend of mine just bought a Steri-Pen UV water purifier. Has anyone ever used one and what is the best way to get maximum results? Likes and dislikes?

Cannibal
05-09-2007, 11:46
Get ready for hate mail! I have no idea why, but nobody seems to like or trust it. Personally, I love mine!

I've been testing it for a couple of months now and other than battery weight, I don't really have many dislikes. You do have to be careful with it! The "glass" is actually quartz or crystal (don't remember which) and if you drop it from more than about 6 feet IT WILL BREAK. That's my complaint.

The good: I get clean water in 45 seconds with no pumping or added "flavor". If you use a pre-filter (coffee filters work fine) you'll get rid of any chunks. It is far from complicated, in fact my neighbor's 4 year old helped me test it and figured it out in two trys!

As I said, they are somewhat fragile, but if you exercise just a tiny bit of common sense they are fantastic. IMO

SouthMark
05-09-2007, 12:33
I replaced my Sweetwater pump filter with the new Steri Pen Adventurer. Compact and only 6 oz. I have no complaints. I just prefilter any unclear water through a coffee filter and in 60 secs I have a liter of water ready to drink. My only complaint (and it is not really a complaint, just limitation) is that you must use a wide mouth container in order to insert the Steri Pen to the proper depth. I overcome this for my Gatoraide bottles by using a 1 liter platupus with the top cut off. Just treat in the platpus and then fill my Gatoraide bottles. Platpus works great also as a scoop in shallow water supplies.

PJ 2005
05-09-2007, 13:56
expensive, heavy

orangebug
05-09-2007, 17:23
My daughter is taking one to India tonight. REI has sold her on the idea. I've suggested she bring some iodine anyway.

mweinstone
05-09-2007, 17:36