PDA

View Full Version : Email from a lawyer

attroll
09-18-2003, 01:12
I got the following email in the webmasters email from a lawyer. I don't know why he could not post it himself. I guess the site was to complicated for him. But here it is in case someone wants to respond to it.

I am a lawyer who is investigating the trajic death of a 15 year old on the Trail. The death ocurred 6/15/03. We are bringing an action against the state facility which had her under detention at the time of her death. We have been told that a number of hikers saw her and heard her screaming at the adults who were present that she was sick and could not go on. She died of heat stroke. We ARE NOT suing any individual or organization in any way involved with the AT. This group of children were without guides and no guide, hiker or AT entity were involved. please help---send any information you mat have--even rumours to Brad C. Kaplan 7 Lenox Pointe, Atlanta. GA 30324 or to my e-mail address [email protected]. Thank you.

gravityman
09-18-2003, 10:26
Oh man, that really really stinks... If this rumor is true, someone is feeling really bad about that whole mess. And the poor girl and her family...

I don't understand who they are going after if no guides were with them...

Gravity Man

tlbj6142
09-18-2003, 13:12
Originally posted by gravityman
I don't understand who they are going after if no guides were with them...Whomever this is...
against the state facility which had her under detention Maybe she was with a "state run" day-camp?

Lone Wolf
09-18-2003, 13:22
A "hoods in the woods" program.

tlbj6142
09-18-2003, 13:49
Maybe "hiked straight"?

Lone Wolf
09-18-2003, 13:52
"Hiked Straight" is the gay teens group.

tlbj6142
09-18-2003, 14:01
Good point! I was thinking more along the lines of the old "Scared Straight" program in which they took "troubled youths" to prisons and had the prisoners yell at them for a day, or so, about how bad prison life is.

gravityman
09-18-2003, 14:38