PDA

View Full Version : Southbound AT sleeping bag questions!

Jonesy
05-10-2007, 00:54
Hello everyone! :sun I'm new to the forum but have been doing a good amount of planning and preparing for my southbound thru-hike. My tentative ETA in Maine is mid June.

I think I could use a little help from people more experienced as I'm kind of new to long distance backpacking. I also am on somewhat of a budget where I like to be thrifty but not cheap. I also am not a great sower and will not be making any gear yet but would like to make a quilt sometime in the future (after this hike)!

My sleeping system will consist of my Summit to Sea thermoreactor bag liner (warms up to an additional 8 deg. cel or 15 deg. f $35 on ebay, 9.3 oz.), a pair of Patagonia capilene long johns (6.5 oz, $12) for bottoms when cold warrants it and one pair of altletic boxers for the summer (1.5 oz). For the top I have a lightweight Patagonia Wool 2 capilene zip l.s. shirt (6.4 oz, <$40). I also have a Craft L1 short sleeve thermo which is form fitting and puts out some serious heat for it's packability and weight (4.9 oz) but I get stinky quick in it! Jury is still out although it's a nice piece of kit as some would say.

I will also be able to utilize the clothes I plan on bringing allowing me to use a higher rated bag (I think). I have a lightweight pair of wind/rain pants (5.7 oz, free). Right now I own a Patagonia micro puff synthetic vest (7.4 oz, $24) and an uberlite Columbia microfleece (6.9 oz, $15). I'm thinking of leaving the micro puff at home and getting a Montbell U.L. thermawwrap jacket (8oz, $80 if I can fit into a small, $120 otherwise :eek: ) for more versatility and use an ultralight thin wool vest instead of the micropuff. I think I should purchase a silkweight balaclava (1-2 oz.?). I will also be bringing a suitable hat for cool windy weather/nights (1.5-3 oz?). Last resort would be my Outdoor Research Ion wind/rain jacket (3.5 oz?, it's in the mail, $60).