PDA

View Full Version : Cirius or XM for a thru hike? Which one?

gatorhiker
05-22-2007, 21:16
I'm still getting into shape for my '08 thru hike and still getting my logistics in order for my goal of a total complete 2175 miler in '08 starting at approach trail at Amicalola Falls. I've got my Mini I-pod but now and then being in my 60's I want real news (& no not from Imus) 'cause I was brought up being a part of the CRONKITE GENERATION who just celebrated his 90'th birthday last week & CBS's "That's the way it was this date 05-22-07!". I gonna want some real news along my trek in '08 for a lot of reasons besides current events......things like weather, sports (I love my sports in particular the GATORS-U of Fla, whom will be on XM along with many other SEC teams in '08 bot on Cirius in '07).

I just wonder if any of you whom are sports and news lovers (as well as music, etc) had any experience with the mini-receivers of the satellite radio
industry? This week I'm gonna go to Best Buy and hope I can get to talk to some (probably a young 20 yr old who has never hiked further than from his/her bedroom to the john or to their vehicle. But before that, I want to ask the real EXPERTS.........you all!

Do any of ya'll (yes, I'm a Southern old gent & dang proud of it!) have any experience utilizing either Cirius or XM gadgets on your short or long jaunts up or down the A.T.? Yes I do know that battery life is relative to time of usage but I'm more interested in reception and places along the trail to pick of batteries or recharge the rechargeable units. Which is better, Cirius or XM. There has been talk about a merger of the two but according to the info I have gotten from friends their is 75-80% probability that, that will not occur.

Thx for your interest in reading this and I'll be interested in reading input from any of the real experts on the trail usage of either of these.

Happy Trails,
Gatorhiker

Phreak
05-22-2007, 21:59