PDA

View Full Version : 1st Section in SNP starting May 25

wallace
05-23-2007, 15:20
Hi all,

This Friday, May 25, I'll be starting my first section hike. I've always day hiked before but this is my first time backpacking and covering any distance. I was inspired to try it after meeting some through hikers last year in SNP. My friend and I will be hiking SNP southbound from Front Royal to Waynesboro. I thought by going south I would meet more throughs. (would not be able to keep up with them if I went north anyway). I have my pack weight including food down around 24 pounds. This does not include water. I am hoping to do 12 to 13 miles per day. Seem reasonable? Hope to meet some of you out there.

Alligator
05-23-2007, 15:40
12-13 sounds reasonable if you are used to hiking some. That's a relatively easy section of the trail. I section hike and I did the top North and Central portions of the park in winter at that pace.

Creek Dancer
05-23-2007, 15:56
:) Seems reasonable to me. This is a nice section. Don't count on staying in the shelters because they may be full of thru hikers this time of year, not to mention the extra people out for the holiday weekend. Have a great time.

Skyline
05-23-2007, 16:03
SNP is easier than many sections of the AT, but there are ascents, descents, and rocks contrary to rumors that blossom every Spring in Georgia. If going shelter-to-shelter, you'll find a couple of them are spread out to make for longer daily mileage than 12-13, and in another instance you will have to choose between short and much longer mileage where the next is closer but the one after that is quite a bit further. This time of year (NOBO prime time), and particularly during a holiday weekend, expect the shelters and nearby designated tentsites to be packed.

Keeping your pack weight that low should be a positive.