PDA

View Full Version : New Hiker-Need Tips on Carrying H20

gimpy68
06-04-2007, 12:48
I'm new to hiking and have been planning my first hike since December. I will be hiking (hopefully), from the start of the trail in GA to the NC border. I have to start the hike in July, and am concerned about the heat and carrying enough H20. My pack has a hydration system, so I planned on carrying 3 liters in that to start. Does anyone have any tips on refilling. Will I be able to find water sources along the trail this time of year? Also, I have been trying to decide on what treatment system to buy. I'm thinking that the Katahdin system would work o.k. I would welcome any comments/tips from any experienced hikers.

Rainman
06-04-2007, 13:00
Ultimately, you should do what you are comfortable with. Carrying 3 liters is very likely more than you will need in that section, and I say that as a person who carries water. I would consider taking a two liter hydration pouch. That will save you several pounds at the start of the day. You will hear from some ultralight hikers that you don't need to carry water at all, just "camel up" at the water sources.

That section has a lot of reliable sources ranging from small springs to large creeks and streams, some even flow right across or next to the trail. All of the shelters in that section have reliable sources for cooking in the evening, assuming that you will be overnighting at or near the shelters (which is a whole other controversial topic).

txulrich
06-04-2007, 13:25