PDA

View Full Version : When were you happiest to see a White Blaze?

wilconow
10-02-2003, 12:04
Yesterday I took off work to work on finishing the entire AT in maryland (I know, I know, I'm a newbie and this is my first goal).

I did the area from High Rock to the mason-dixon line (through Pen-Mar Park). There is an area right after High Rock that is extremely rocky and downhill. As noted in the PATC book, its important to follow the blazes carefully as the trail is not always obvious.

Needless to say , I found myself in a lot of brush and no blaze to find. After a while of falling a couple times I got really frustrated. This was the second time I lost the trail here. It doesn't sound that hard to stay on the trail.

Anyway I backtracked and somehow found the trail again. Apparently it veered right a lot. It sure was a good idea to go back - the direction I was originally heading in seemed would've taken me way off the trail in a deep forest. Now I understand what they mean when they say how important it is not go too far off the trail, even if you think you'll find it eventually.

So the white blaze I found when I backtracked was the happiest Ive ever been to see one!

chris
10-02-2003, 12:10
May 1 of 2002, when I saw the first blaze at Springer.

The saddest has to be May 28, when I saw my last blaze in Damascus.

Crash
10-02-2003, 20:51
I did that section this year and boy I had a hard time finding the White Blazes! I was running late and wanted to be back at Pen Mar by dark. climbing down the rocks with out seeing the blazes was frustrating. It took me alot longer NOBO than I had done going SOBO. I was running out of water which added to the problem.
The White Blazes should be marked like our roads- white on the right. this way you dont have to think about going the right direction.

Kerosene
10-02-2003, 22:04