PDA

View Full Version : help me find a pack

Rockjay420
06-15-2007, 19:03
First of all, this is my first post, I would like to thank the creators of the n00b articles. I learned more reading this forum than 4 years as a boy scout. I am 18, live in hawaii and I am seeking an adventure on the AT starting late july south bound from Baxter.

Ive had previous experience with external and internal packs, I find externals much more comfortable as they take the weight off my shoulders and instead on my hips.
I am 6 foot 5 and I was wondering what size pack would be comfortable for me. (theres no outfitter over here that i can try on packs) :( Will a large do?
I am on a budget of under 100$, wieght = preferably under 6lbs, room for a sleeping bag, 2man tent, 4 days food, water etc.
I found a few that look alright, but im no expert so please, critisize. http://www.campmor.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplay?productId=14753288&memberId=12500226
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B000KN9J1S/ref=nosim/?tag=yahoo-sg-20&creative=380333&creativeASIN=B000KN9J1S&linkCode=asn
http://www.sierratradingpost.com/p/311,85742_Kelty-Trekker-Backpack-LE-3950-.html Best pack for me on a 100 dollar budget>? any ideas?

Pacific Tortuga
06-15-2007, 19:12
ULA Catalyst, size large 2 & 1/2 pounds, good luck.

Revolutionist_Rob
06-15-2007, 19:18