PDA

View Full Version : ?? Moxie Pond stealth site?

lobstergrrrl
10-03-2003, 19:56
Hi All,
I'm new to theforum. I hope I have this message in the right discussion topic. Looking at all the different choices seems a bit overwhelming when you first log in.

I'm planning to hike in Maine, from the Shirley Blanchard Road to Caratunk later this week. I'm planning to spend one night at Moxie Bald lean to, then I was hoping to camp the next night at Moxie Pond. Does anyone know of any tent sites in the area? Is there a place reasonably close to water where I could set my tent up?

Thanks,
-lg

attroll
10-03-2003, 22:50
LG

I can not answer your question about anything between Moxie Pond Road and Pleasant Pond lean-to. That is one stretch I have yet to do. But if you have never hiked from Monson to Moxie Pond you are in for a nice easy hike. I did it Labor Day weekend and had a great time. We averaged 8 miles a day. We took it easy and just had fun. We were not out to get it done fast. The hike along the Piscataquis River was not as great as in years past when I have done it. The water is very low. But it is still an awesome hike. There were plenty of places to get water it is just that the river was not high. All of the water crossings were very easy.

Well just thought I would let you know a little about the hike in case you have never done that section. If you have any more questions feel free to ask me or email me. Sorry I could not answer your question about anything after Moxie Pond Road.

You can read my trip report from Labor Day weekend at this link: http://www.whiteblaze.net/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=2335&highlight=Monson

lobstergrrrl
10-03-2003, 23:15