PDA

View Full Version : Bear Activist Killed by Bear

Yankee
10-08-2003, 15:53
It just goes to show you....

ANCHORAGE, Alaska, Oct. 8 — A self-taught bear enthusiast who once called Alaska’s brown bears harmless was one of two people fatally mauled in a bear attack in the Katmai National Park and Preserve.

http://www.msnbc.com/news/977560.asp?0cv=CB10&cp1=1

MOWGLI
10-08-2003, 16:58
Last I knew, there were no Brown Bears along the AT.

It has been a bad week for "animal experts" though, hasn't it?

Yankee
10-08-2003, 17:01
no kidding

icemanat95
10-08-2003, 17:03
Wild animals are WILD. Treat them like Teddy Ruxpin and they are going to show you just how wild they can get.

What a moron that guy was.

The only thing that put humans at the top of the food chain was our ability to create tools and tactics that tipped the odds in our favor. Those who neglect to understand this and use their brains and the tools those brains created to gain parity and eventual superiority over other predators, will eventually be victimized by those other predators.

smokymtnsteve
10-08-2003, 17:11
well he was wrong ...He really wasn't a brown bear expert...

Saluki Dave
10-08-2003, 18:18
Experts apparently taste good.

TJ aka Teej
10-08-2003, 19:22
I heard that two bears were shot? That's a shame.

TJ aka Teej
10-08-2003, 19:26
Originally posted by TNJED

Just the one on Bill Bryson's book jacket ;)

Saluki Dave
10-08-2003, 21:17
By RACHEL D'ORO, Associated Press Writer

ANCHORAGE, Alaska - The graphic sounds of a fatal bear attack were recorded, Alaska state troopers discovered Wednesday while reviewing a tape recovered near the bodies of a wildlife author and his girlfriend.

Trooper Chris Hill said Timothy Treadwell may have been wearing a wireless (news - web sites) microphone likely activated when he was attacked by the brown bear at Katmai National Park and Preserve. The videotape has audio only; the screen remains blank for the three-minute recording.