PDA

View Full Version : camping noob and hammocks

jiggatravels
06-26-2007, 13:21
Ok so I am a complete noob to the whole camping thing. I've been on numerous day hikes in Florida and in the Appalachians and Arizona but have yet to actually sleep outside. I know, I know. That said, the desire and work interrupting daydreaming about hiking the entirety of the AT has pretty much consumed my every waking moment for the better part of 2 years. I am toying around with the idea of a 2009 thru hike but obviously I am starting from scratch with even the basic equipment. I've been lurking for a few days and trolling google and have discovered the rabid followers of the hammocks. I have to say probably my biggest issue and challenge to doing my first actual camping trip is the annoyance of knowing that I have to hike long days...then sleep uncomfortably on the ground with spiders. Emphasis on the latter.

So here's the question (the first of many I'm sure), what is the feasibility of a complete camping newbie starting with a hammock and just completely skipping over the tents altogether? Also is there an easy way to set up said hammock in my backyard sans trees (considering my idiot of a landlord just cut down my one and only tree)? Oh and I'm 5'11 and not skinny by any stretch, is a hammock going to annoy the ever loving crap outta me?

Any advice would be great. I am really loving this place so far!

peace,
jenn :sun

dshepard
06-26-2007, 13:29
I would say yes, you can skip tents. I am just now getting into hammocks with my son and they are so much more comfortable than tents (IMO). Check out http://www.hammockforums.net/ for all the info you could ever want on hammocks.

scope
06-26-2007, 13:44
Completely feasible. If getting into and out of the hammock is an issue of potential annoyance, then you may do better with a Hennessy that has the bottom entry.

hammock engineer
06-26-2007, 14:03