PDA

View Full Version : Questions about my first section hike starting in HF

dannoo1985
07-04-2007, 17:10
Hi Guys-

I've been reading this board for awhile now and its been increadibly useful in helping me plan for my first section hike. I have never been on the AT before but I did work on a trail crew for the past two summers so I have plenty of backpacking experience but have never been on the trail for more than 9 days at a time.

I will be arriving at Harper's Ferry in 2 weeks from a 15 hour train ride. The train is scheduled to stop at 11:45 so I could hike maybe five hours after I get some lunch. Where would you recommend I camp for that night? Is it a better idea to stay in town that night or hit a shelter/campsite?

Also, I will be leaving the trail on August 18th. Where would you expect someone to have traveled at that point if they started on July 15th?

Thanks for the help everyone!

Jack Tarlin
07-04-2007, 18:32
You didn't say which way you were going, but my guess is North.

One good place to stay would be the relatively new Ed Garvey shelter, just under six and a half miles north of Harpers.

It takes most folks between 2-3 days to hike Maryland, and 15-18 days for Pennsylvania. New Jersey and New York take most folks 5-6 days each. Assuming you have about 35 days for your trip, my guess is you'll finish somewhere in central or northern Massachusetts. Dalton would be a good place as there are several friendly locals who take in hikers.....you could get a good clean-up, and perhaps a ride to the bus or Amtrak station so you could get home.

Have a great trip,and if you've any more questions, keep 'em coming.

Jack Tarlin
07-04-2007, 18:39
P.S.