PDA

View Full Version : The dreaded 'blue blaze' question...

T-Dubs
07-04-2007, 17:39
I am planning to hike the entire trail but in 3 long section hikes without a real time limit. I'm recently retired and think wandering that path sounds like a beautiful way to spend some time.

A few months ago there was some talk about the best 'blue' trails along the AT. A member (RAT) informed me that this information was available at one time on another site (hobocentral.com) of which I have no knowledge. Is there a source out there for those side trails that might appeal to a specific interest? I'd take a trail off the AT to see any scenic overlook, interesting geological formation or old-growth forest.

Where does one go to find specific information on this subject?

Thanks,
Tom

shelterbuilder
07-04-2007, 18:15
I am planning to hike the entire trail but in 3 long section hikes without a real time limit. I'm recently retired and think wandering that path sounds like a beautiful way to spend some time.
A few months ago there was some talk about the best 'blue' trails along the AT. A member (RAT) informed me that this information was available at one time on another site (hobocentral.com) of which I have no knowledge. Is there a source out there for those side trails that might appeal to a specific interest? I'd take a trail off the AT to see any scenic overlook, interesting geological formation or old-growth forest.
Thanks,
Tom

I would think that some of that information would be in the guidebooks for the AT. But I don't know if anyone has ever taken the time to pull ALL of it together into one source. Try asking someone at ATC in Harper's Ferry. It should also be in the NPS features inventory, and may be available on CD if you connect with the right person in Harper's Ferry. (NPS/ATC use that data for making their "5-year plans" and such.)

emerald
07-04-2007, 18:49

I suggest you start a thread on WhiteBlaze.;) :-? Maybe you just did.