PDA

View Full Version : tent vs. shelter

jimmyfunk
07-05-2007, 18:27
It is my understanding that you are required to stay in the shelters provided while on the AT. Is this true? Furthermore, should I pack a tent in the event that the shelters are full? Newbie here planning first trip.

Appalachian Tater
07-05-2007, 18:35
In the Smoky Mountains you are supposed to stay in shelters and if they are full, camp nearby. Thru-hikers do NOT need reservations. http://www.nps.gov/grsm/planyourvisit/backcountry-camping.htm

Elsewhere, tenting is allowed and staying in shelters is not required although you may be restricted as to as where you may tent.

You should ALWAYS carry a tent, tarp, hammock, etc. as shelter space is first-come, first-served, and is never guaranteed. It is also possible that you may need a shelter in case of emergency.

Marta
07-05-2007, 18:39
Q: Are you required to stay in shelters?

A: Not normally. There are a very few areas along the AT where tent camping is not permitted. Those areas should be clearly indicated on maps and in guidebooks. There are usually signs along the Trail as well.

If you are planning a section hike, please tell us what section you're considering so we can tell you whether it's one of those special areas.

Q: Should you bring a tent?

A: Yes. Shelters can be full; you can get caught by dark or bad weather between shelters; you might choose to stay in a campsite; you might want to camp near a shelter to get away from the other people in the area, or to get under cover if it's buggy.

Marta/Five-Leaf

Topcat
07-05-2007, 18:44
Take a tent. Learn to set it up with your eyes closed. Some people are drawn to the shelters, i prefer to sleep in my tent unless it has been a long day and i dont want to set it up. Saves others from my snoring and me from theirs

PJ 2005
07-05-2007, 20:47
Tents are also nice for personal space. You don't get much of that in shelters.

Jack Tarlin
07-05-2007, 21:19
Jim: