PDA

View Full Version : Dr. Bronner's Soap

J5man
07-11-2007, 11:27
Newbie here, just bought some biodegradable soap at a sporting goods store this morning and the kid at the check out told me about Dr. Bronner's 18 in 1 soap. Stopped by the local natural health food store after that and found a bottle. (Bought the almond scent) Just brushed my teeth with it! (which is one of it's suggested uses!) Anyway, it claims it can be also be used for shampoo, body soap, laundry soap, shaving, aftershave, or just lotion. What has been your experience with it, please share. If all the claims are correct, it must the best thing since sliced bread.
www.drbronner.com (http://www.drbronner.com)

onicoe
07-11-2007, 11:44
i've used doc bronner's in homemade shampoo recipes. which left my hair feeling gunky. i think the main reason is because doc bronners is so concentrated. i've never used it straight up for shampoo tho.

the peppermint liquid soap makes for a great aphid killer tho. [:

there's also a documentary coming out on doc bronner, you guys might enjoy it.
www.magicsoapbox.com/ (http://www.whiteblaze.net/forum/www.magicsoapbox.com/)

Lone Wolf
07-11-2007, 11:51
no soaps are needed for backpacking

Appalachian Tater
07-11-2007, 11:52
Only sheeples use soap.

The Weasel
07-11-2007, 12:11
Great stuff. I found out about it 7 years ago on the trail, and have used it exclusively ever since. Almond is my favorite too, and it also comes in bar form. Whole Foods usually stocks it, as well as co-ops and, I think, Trader Joe's. Check out the web site.

Funny, true story out here: Well known rocker from the Germs was busted a month or so back for testing positive for marijuana after using it. Bronner's hired a lawyer for him and got the charges dismissed. He was in the tank a few days though. So careful with brushing with it!!!

The Weasel

wilconow
07-11-2007, 12:13