PDA

View Full Version : New to trails, few questions help appriciated.

HappySack
07-12-2007, 06:39
Hello WB, I have been lurking on here and reading for a while now, tons of great information but I have not been able to find a few key things I'm looking for I was hopeing I could get some help.

I am rather new to hiking long distance, I hike a couple times a week just day hikes right now but never a big trail like the AT.

I leave for the AT on the 30th of this month starting in Maine and going south, since im starting late I figured i would be better to go south since it would get colder slower. I am going for as long as I can with no real set goal on miles or anything I just want to get out there and hike/camp for as long as possible. I have everything prepared for the most part for this trip other than some minor things (Seemingly)

My question is this, I see comments on this site that lead me to beleive that you have to stay in shelters or in designated areas when your camping, is this so? I am going Hammock/Tent so that I would have a choice between the three: Shelter, hammock, tent. I would rather avoid shelters, I have been sleeping outside for almost 4 months now as part of my preperation for the hike and I sleep better in my tent than I ever did inside.

Would I be breaking trail rules if I camped away from the trail in the woods? Is there somewhere I can find the trail rules? I have looked with little luck, my AT Data Book and Companion still have not come in the mail so I haven't been able to do that kind of planning yet but hopefully soon.

Any insight would be great, I searched around and couldn't find my answers.

Thanks and happy hiking.

T-Dubs
07-12-2007, 07:06
http://www.whiteblaze.net/forum/showthread.php?t=25785

Recent thread on this. I hope this helps.

TWS

Lone Wolf
07-12-2007, 09:20