PDA

View Full Version : Identify old Kelty backpack

Tsani
07-19-2007, 14:55
I bought a used Kelty backpack several years ago. It has been very good to me, but I am curious about what model it is. The tag that had that info was torn off. If you know what model of backpack it is, please let me know. The customer service staff at Kelty could not identify it over the phone.

Characteristics:

External frame - very large
3 pockets on the right side
2 pockets, one long, one small on the left side
Large top central cargo space
Smaller cargo space below it
Large front pocket
Large covering flap is secured by strings that pass through black plastic cylindrical spring loaded clips that release by pushing a button
The pack is held to the frame by a long wire that passes through aluminum buttons.
Color: Red

If you know the model of this pack, please tell me.

Topcat
07-19-2007, 15:20
Post a pic of it and i bet someone will be able to

oldbear
07-19-2007, 15:27
I'm not a Kelty expert though I have owned two Tioga's .My best guess is that it's a BB5 and the fact that it had five pockets and is red led me to that conclusion

strez
07-19-2007, 15:49
Does it have an internal divider? I don't think the BB5 had a main compartment divider.

oldbear
07-19-2007, 15:53
Does it have an internal divider? I don't think the BB5 had a main compartment divider.
So maybe it's a Serac ?

Tsani
08-01-2007, 19:55
Thanks everybody! After reading some of the descriptions on the 'net I am sure that it is in fact a BB5 with extension bar. It came without any straps, but I took some from another backpack and it works fine. The waist belt may not be original. It is well padded and I hear that the original model had an unpadded belt. Whoever put the belt on it, I appreciate it.