PDA

View Full Version : Moonbow GearSking on a Thru Hike

NutellaTheHun
07-19-2007, 15:08
I am new to the WB forums. I just have a question...
Has anyone had any experience in thru-hiking the AT with a Moonbow GearSkin??

http://www.moonbowgear.com/1trailgear/1Custom%20packs/Gearskins/gearskin.html

dixicritter
07-19-2007, 21:06
That's SGT Rock's favorite "pack". He and our oldest boy both have one. Rock plans to use his on his thru next year.

Johnny Swank
07-19-2007, 21:10
I made something similar for me and the missus. Love it, love it, love it. Its like carrying a big ol' pillow. I did put on a mesh pocket on the outside just for little junk, but the concept is sound. You can't beat $150 (or whatever the current price is) for a custom-made pack. Moonbow makes some great gear.

Grimace
07-31-2007, 13:53
I'm a big fan of the Gearskin though I got it after my thru-hike when I re-evaluated all of the weight I was carrying. I can't speak to using it on the AT, but I did use it on shorter trips - JMT 230 miles or so and a 7 day trip through Glacier. It was great on both trips and I continue to use it on every backpacking trip. Everything is easily accessible and still very comfortable when carrying 9 days of food. (Only 1 place to resupply on the JMT. )

My only complaint is packing up in the rain. With a traditional pack you can sit in your tent and get everything together staying relatively dry. With the Gearskin, the tent goes in first, requires semi-precise folding, and semi-careful packing. Lots of stuff can get wet if you're not careful.

It's an awesome pack. Go for it.

twosticks
07-31-2007, 14:10
Seems pretty expensive for a couple of straps. I just picked up an Osprey Atmos 50 for $67.

Fenrir
07-31-2007, 22:12
Where'd you get a deal like that?

twosticks
08-01-2007, 11:01
rei-outlet.com

It's a mens small, but they also have a women's large.

rgarling
08-01-2007, 11:35