PDA

View Full Version : Whiteblaze maintenece question

Fenrir
07-30-2007, 13:29
Hey guys, the last outage as well as something I noticed in the email notification of PMs got me thinking. I've lurked here for a long time and started posting only recently (heres hoping for 08!) so I don't really know the admins, but how do they maintain the site? Do they have a programmer around for when things get bad? Well, I'm a programmer and I do server maintenance, php, mysql, all that stuff, so if they don't have someone around that can at least answer questions where do I volunteer? Sorry if this has been dealt with before, but I haven't found anything about it.

Thanks

emerald
07-30-2007, 13:54
Send a private message to attroll (http://www.whiteblaze.net/forum/private.php?do=newpm&u=8) and ask if he could use some assistance.;)

attroll
07-30-2007, 14:05
First off, thank you for you offer and I will try and explain more about the software and the background and the administrators.

The way the structure works for administrators for WhiteBlaze is a follows.
Attroll
SGT Rock
Dixicritter

I take care of the server and all the backend stuff. The programmers are pretty much me (Attroll). I did not actually write the software. I maintain it and install modification to it as needed and anything of that nature. I am not a true programmer. I learn as I go along. I know enough to make myself dangerous. We have never (knock on wood) had any issues in the past where we needed a programmer to fix anything. We have been lucky and never had any major issues with the software or the server. We purchased our own server this year and we can say we now own it. It is parked in a datacenter in Texas. The server was a little pricey but I thought we wanted something that was dependable and expandable for the future. Our server has been very good to us so far.