PDA

View Full Version : Whats your Story?

firefly
10-22-2003, 17:40
It all started when I was 2 years old. My family camped under a tarp. We used my dads military gear. I ate peanut butter out of military tins. In highschool I was in an explorer scout troop. We camped under the stars or rolled up in plastic ground sheets when it rained. I ate vienna sausage and beanie weenie from cans and cooked with sterno. My first backpack was orange-thats all there was. I hiked from Springer to Fontana Dam with that rig. After college and the real job I graduated to the bigtime. Sierra Designs Meteor Lite tent..gourmet meals cooked over a whisperlite stove. I hauled it all in a Dana Terraplane-you could carry a volkswagon in that pack. Now I sleep in a hammock..eat whatever you can add boiling water to and cook on an alcohol stove. My shoelaces weigh more than my pack. When I am not on the trail, working, eating or sleeping I am probably cruising a camping gear store. I can hit Sports Authority, REI, Gallyans, and High Country Outfitters all on the way home (15 mile stretch and yes I have hit all of them on the same trip) I live in Atlanta and the trail is 1.5 hours away. I am an ADDICT-I love backpacking. I am also a 45 year old female so that make me a little strange..oh well geuss I will never grow up...whats your STORY??

mongo
10-23-2003, 03:54
That is one of the best posts I have read in a month of sunday's.