PDA

View Full Version : Trail Baking?

Firemarshal Bill
08-03-2007, 10:29
Has anyone had any success with baking any kind of bread using a single pot/pan on the trail? I've seen it done "cowboy-cookin" style with a large cast iron dutch oven with hot coals placed on top, but I'm thinking of something on a smaller scale for one or two people.

Midway Sam
08-03-2007, 10:38
There is the Bakepacker (http://www.bakepacker.com/). I have no first hand experience, but I am sure someone who does will come along soon...

sixhusbands
08-03-2007, 10:41
I made the Grands type rolls ontime after a day in town. I used a 2 quart pot with a lid ,spread olive oil on the pot and put on a simmer flame of my Pocket Rocket until done. the bottoms were brown , but they were mighty tasty.
I tried frozen bread dough the same way and had simlar results. Low flame is the key . Enjoy!

oops56
08-03-2007, 11:46
Check this out

http://www.minibulldesign.com/myadventure/

Hikes with a stick
08-03-2007, 12:33
I've used it alot, and I take it with me almost every time. I have baked italian bread, pizzas, cupcakes, omeletes, and a few other things in it. I've also used it to heat stuff up, like the zataran's complete meals.

You cook everything inside a plastic bag, so cleanup is easy. And when you are done cooking, you have hot water left over for dishes or a hot drink. Its almost like a back country microwave, you can reheat almost anything in it.

However, when you bake something in it, it will not brown. If you need the browning to occur, you can always brown it for a minute or two in frying pan or other pot before eating it. Cooking with the bakepacker does use alot of fuel as well, some breads and cakes can require 15+ minutes, and that does not include getting the water boiling. Omeletes are quick and foolproof, they take about 8 to 9 minutes.

Jaybird
08-03-2007, 13:26