PDA

View Full Version : Amphibious Hiking Sandals (Vegetarian?)

sheeba
08-11-2007, 20:25
Hello,
This is my first time posting on the board. :)

I have a good pair of hiking boots butI have never tried hiking sandals before. I am soon going to Costa Rica and looking for sturdy quick drying hiking sandals. Do you have any suggestions? I'd prefer to find a vegetarian sandal, but since I'm a little pressed for time, I'm open to all suggestions.

Sheeba

JAK
08-12-2007, 16:00
What is a vegetarian sandal? I'm just curious. Does it only include plant fibre and perhaps polymers made from natural rubber or perhaps synthesized from vegetable oils. The reason I ask is because I'm teaching a Material Science class to engineers this fall, and I want them to look at the life cycle material and energy costs of various alternative materials for various products. Do you also consider the life cycle energy costs. I would assume natural materials would also have less energy impact, but I suppose it also depends on transportation and distribution costs. Recycling muddies the waters a bit also, but again I think, done right, natural materials probably have an edge.

Some sort of link in the right direction would be sufficient. Thanks.
Meanwhile I will google "vegetarian clothing".

JAK
08-12-2007, 19:01
p.s. Wouldn't sandals made of amphibians violate the vegetarian thing? ;)

Dances with Mice
08-12-2007, 19:38
Do you have any suggestions? I'd prefer to find a vegetarian sandal, but since I'm a little pressed for time, I'm open to all suggestions. I just got a pair of these (http://www.chubascosandals.com/) this weekend and they are extremely comfortable and dry very fast. Obviously I can't comment on how well they will hold up over time.

Some styles contain leather, but that's made from cows and everyone knows that cows are vegetarians. So they are truly vegetarian sandals.

CoyoteWhips
08-13-2007, 07:35
This thread makes me :).