PDA

View Full Version : Rest Days

oreotragus
08-18-2007, 18:50
I was wondering...

I am a personal trainer and I love to work out, but I know to give myself a rest day every week to give my body a break to rebuild itself. I feel better and stronger the next day (I rest on Sunday, and Mondays are one of my strength training days).

I am planning on thru-hiking after I graduate college. My question is, does this one-day-a-week scheduled rest apply to a thru-hike? Do most people pick a day to rest, and if not fully resting, do minimal hiking? I see the benefits of regular rest myself because I exercise regularly, so I assume that resting while thru-hiking, which is strenuous enough, would be very beneficial in warding off stress and fatigue.

Or, is time and miles lost because of rest too worrisome to bother?

I will most likely give myself one rest day a week either way. I do think of the miles and time lost, but I think giving my body a regular break will be one of the best things I could do for myself while attempting something so physically challenging.

Thanks!

hopefulhiker
08-18-2007, 19:07
Hikers take "zero" days every now and then, usually in towns or hostels, take showers, eat big meal, do laundry and ressupply.. Usually you are still pretty busy.....

Pedaling Fool
08-18-2007, 19:11
I wouldn’t worry about sticking to a strict one-day-a-week rest schedule. Basically just take a rest every time you hit a town. Sometimes, after you get your hiking legs, you won’t even feel like taking a zero day. But you always can if you want to be prudent, you’ll only know once you get out there.