PDA

View Full Version : First Aid Kit

Suzzz
08-18-2007, 19:08
Hi,

What do most AT hikers carry for First Aid Kits?

Call me paranoid but as a paramedic, I find it very hard to enter the wilderness without my own version of a "small hospital". I always bring a ton of stuff every time I go out but have only done one-nighters so far. I should also point out that I've never had to use anything more complicated than a band-aid.

So what do seasonned hikers carry for first aid? I'm not worried about weight, my whole kit weights about 1 pound (small price to pay to be ready in the event of an emergency) but my pack is small and I figure I should probably prioritize food. Lol!

rickb
08-18-2007, 19:42
Check this out in the article section:

http://www.whiteblaze.net/forum/showthread.php?p=96993#post96993

But since you are a paramedic, I'd be interested to hear what you think about was was posted in that thread!

Shutterbug
08-18-2007, 19:55
Hi,

Call me paranoid but as a paramedic, I find it very hard to enter the wilderness without my own version of a "small hospital". I always bring a ton of stuff every time I go out but have only done one-nighters so far. I should also point out that I've never had to use anything more complicated than a band-aid.

So what do seasonned hikers carry for first aid? I'm not worried about weight, my whole kit weights about 1 pound (small price to pay to be ready in the event of an emergency) but my pack is small and I figure I should probably prioritize food. Lol!

I also like to carry a variety of first aid items, but keep the weight down by reducing the number of each item I carry.

I carry:
2 gause pads
4 bandaids
1 ace bandage
1 bottle of liquid skin
12 asprin
12 tylenol tablets
6 imotium tablets
1 needle and thread
1 small tube of zink ointment
1 small tube of posion oak medication
1 package of Fisherman's Friend Cough Drops
1 lip balm
1 tube of sun screen
1 tube of 100% deet
2 benidryl tablets