PDA

View Full Version : Do orange tarps/tents really attract bears?

Dirtygaiters
08-19-2007, 21:49
I read on the Oware website that orange tarps can visually attract a passing bear. Does anybody know if this is true?

Makes me a little concerned as I recently bought a blaze orange tarp for general use:-?...(I'm a novice tarper, btw)

SGT Rock
08-19-2007, 22:00
I've never hear about that. Let me know how that works out for you ;)

Footslogger
08-19-2007, 22:02
Never heard of that either. Just don't sleep with your food or we'll never know if it was the color or the odor.

'Slogger

Frolicking Dinosaurs
08-19-2007, 22:05
I used a blaze orange tent for several years because I camped frequently in the national forests where hunters are abundant. I never once had a bear come near my tent - not even in the Smokies in areas with bear warnings.

Dirtygaiters
08-19-2007, 22:12
Yeah, that's partly what I was thinking when I decided on orange for my tarp. Definitely rather not be shot by a hunter...and at least bears don't generally carry rifles.

Dirtygaiters
08-19-2007, 22:14
By the way, this (http://www.owareusa.com/images/fabsilcolors.JPG) is the shade of orange I'm talking about. Very "bright" stuff.

Frolicking Dinosaurs
08-19-2007, 22:19
That's the same shade as my late 1970's - early 1980's tent.

woodsy
08-19-2007, 22:19
Black Bears don't come in orange colors so they shouldn't be attracted to your tarp.
Now if your tarp were black.................hmmmmmm?

emerald
08-19-2007, 23:03
Say woodsy, if bulls are attracted to red, why do you think it so far fetched that bears might be attracted to blaze orange?;)

Panzer1
08-19-2007, 23:16
Bear hunters wear orange. I don't think it attracts bears to them though. If anything you would think bears would learn to stay away from orange.

Panzer

Franco
08-20-2007, 00:11
I had an orange tent but never seen a bear but I would like to know if there is a colour that attracts beer.
Franco

emerald
08-20-2007, 00:27