PDA

View Full Version : special gear

taildragger
08-20-2007, 10:15
What other types of gear might I need for doing that PCT that you would not use on a regular hiking trip.

I've heard a lot of people mentioning that an ice axe might be very useful, but what about crampons? And what should I be looking for in these pieces of equipment (i.e. maker, weights, styles, lengths, etc...)

Are there any other specialty tools that might be needed?

Footslogger
08-20-2007, 10:30
I'm starting to develop that same list, since I am planning a 2009 PCT thru.

Was able to get my hands on a used set of crampons so I went for it. If I decide not to take them on the PCT I will be able to use them in Wyoming for sure.

I opted (at least for the time being) to not take/use an actual ice axe. I found something called the "Whippet" by Black Diamond.

http://www.thebackcountry.net/cart/product.php?productid=18220

It's not as solid as an ice axe but I have some experience with self-arrest and I think it will work for me. I already use trekking poles so the Whippet will just take the place of one of them in the Sierras. Main reason for going that route was that I see too many pics of hikers with ice axes proudly attached to their packs rather than in their hand if/when they needed them.

Next item is a bear cannister. Again, I was able to find one used (BearVault) so I bought it. You pretty much have to carry a cannister or the Ursack with the aluminum liner in the Sierras unless you plan on hiking to each of the campsites that have bear boxes.

Other than that I think the main thing is a wider variety of clothing. First part is all dessert so extremely light weight stuff is necessary. I had someone suggest I NOT take my inflatable thermarest at the beginning of the hike as it will most likely get punctured. I think what I might do is carry a Z-rest or Ridge Rest in the beginning and then switch to an inflatable pad at Kennedy Meadows.