PDA

View Full Version : what do you use to clean water?

chiefdaddy
08-28-2007, 16:31
I can't bring myself to go one direction on this topic, what do you guys think is best?
dunno if I can afford the sweatwater filter cost and or the cost of the doctor once sick if I leave it home.... Bleach drops? Iodine? all of the above lol Just boil it? I am no newbie and this just bugs me, short trips are a whole other world even up to 2 weeks compaired to thru hiking and what to carry. I have met TOOOOOO MANY HIKERS WITH GIARDIA!!!!! UGH!!!

Dr O
08-28-2007, 16:33
I can't bring myself to go one direction on this topic, what do you guys think is best?
dunno if I can afford the sweatwater filter cost and or the cost of the doctor once sick if I leave it home.... Bleach drops? Iodine? all of the above lol Just boil it? I am no newbie and this just bugs me, short trips are a whole other world even up to 2 weeks compaired to thru hiking and what to carry. I have met TOOOOOO MANY HIKERS WITH GIARDIA!!!!! UGH!!!

Hmmm... sweat water shouldn't need filtering ;)

chiefdaddy
08-28-2007, 16:38
the sweatwater does not catch everything! and then there is the cost and weight of it. I like it and have had two over the past 12 years.

Dr O
08-28-2007, 16:40
I use chlorine, but don't completely trust it. If the water is cold and/or the PH is just slightly basic, it may not be effective. If I'm cooking, it gets boiled anyway, but drinking water I feel like I'm taking a chance. :eek:

chiefdaddy
08-28-2007, 16:45
yeah this is why I can't figure out what to do lol!!! heavy filter....or take a chance.... ugh

refreeman
08-28-2007, 16:47
The First Need Deluxe Portable Purifier, as the name states is a water purifier. Many other products are just water filters, removing only some of the contaminants in the water. However, The First Need Deluxe removes EVERYTHING, the water comes out 99.9% pure. the First Need Deluxe removes all the bacteria, viruses and chemicals.