PDA

View Full Version : Possible T-day Hike

Bruce Hudson
08-28-2007, 20:35
OK, I'm a 64 year old guy who's new to backpacking this year-- hiked Atkins to Erwin in two separate hikes this summer. I'm a teacher adn school has started and of course I'm anxious to get back out there. The question is how crazy is it to hike the trail in Nov. I don't have cold weather 4 season equipment--Kelty 35 plus bag, Flashlight tent. My thought was to go south from Erwin. How sensible is that to try in late Nov.? (I'm aware that there are winter hikers but that's not what I have in mind.)

Bruce Hudson
[email protected]
Raleigh, NC

bigcranky
08-28-2007, 20:56
Bruce,

I love hiking in November. No bugs, no people, great views (no leaves), and it's usually cool enough for good hiking without being so cold as to be a winter hike. The only downside is the short day-length. I like to bring a book and a warm bag to hole up in.

That said, hiking in late November, i.e., Thanksgiving, opens you up to some potentially serious weather concerns. You'll be in some high country -- Big Bald is a great mountain. In general, the overnight lows will be below freezing, and often below 20-F. The highs will be anywhere from 30-60, and it could be very windy. It's usually fairly dry, so you won't have to worry too much about rain and snow -- but it could happen. Worst-case scenario, you're hiking in 28-degree weather and it raining sideways with 50mph gusts. Been there, done that, and it's less than ideal hiking weather :-?

So you're not crazy, but you'll definitely want a warmer sleeping bag, and to make sure you have the right clothing. It wouldn't hurt to find an experienced cold-weather hiker with whom you could share this journey.

Being mentally prepared is also important. I can't count the number of times I've driven up from warm, sunny central North Carolina, and been dropped off at the trailhead in an icy gale. It's a shock to the system. But knowing it's going to happen helps (a little).