PDA

View Full Version : TrailPlace is going away

eragon921
09-03-2007, 19:19
It appears Wingfoot is leaving the AT community and that includes pulling down all of his web pages, including TrailPlace.com. He's offering the domains he owns for sale. As a professional web developer and recent AT thru-hiker, trail name Oprey, I feel that this is a very signifigant loss as I met several of my hiking friends there as have countless other AT thru-hikers. I would like to buy the domain from Wingfoot in order to re-establish TrailPlace, but he wants $7500 for the domain. I can't afford to buy this on my own and am hereby seeking the help of the AT community.

If you feel that TrailPlace is signifigant enough to merit reposting please help me put together the $7500 needed to purchase the domain and repost the site. As I said before, I am a professional web developer and have my own hosting solution so I can have the site up and running in time for next years thru-hikers. PLEASE help me preserve this trail resource.

If you wish to help, please visit http://www.ospreysjournies.com/help-buy-trailplacecom/

Thanks,

Seth "Osprey" Schumacher
Appalachian Trail 2007
[email protected]
www.ospreysjournies.com (http://www.ospreysjournies.com)

Lone Wolf
09-03-2007, 19:20
old news. life goes on. i'll donate nothing. :banana

the goat
09-03-2007, 19:22
i'll donate to whiteblaze instead.

aaroniguana
09-03-2007, 19:24
Oh man, bad, bad news. Some TP'ers came here, the rest went to ustrailwalker.com. Some did both.

Poor TP, shot down in flames...

neighbor dave
09-03-2007, 19:25
:-? rip off!
7500 bucks could give me two years and twice around the world. spend yer cash wisely son:-?

Tha Wookie
09-03-2007, 19:27
it's just a name.... with a stigma. Surely there's better names out there anyway. Think of all the people that would never go there just because of its name.

It was never that great of a name anyway. Save yourself the effort and get one for $20.

Roland
09-03-2007, 19:32