PDA

View Full Version : Lost in life and need help...

Dawgtrekker
11-06-2003, 00:40
Hey, peeps out there!!

How is working life for you? I wanted to know what type of occupations thru-hikers hold either before or after their AT hike?

I am bored with life! And my '04 NOBO Thru is the only thing I find myself looking forward to each day. I have only been working for my Co. for a few months. Yes, it's my first "real" job - I am a recent graduate from The University of Georgia and already I am burnt-out on what I have been preparing myself for all my life. What gives? I'm supposed to be "happy" and lovin' and livin' up life!! But, I'm not. I don't.

Like most of you (or not, if you're lucky), I get up way too early, spend 8+ hours at a job I don't care for, sit in traffic for at least 90 minutes each day, do things with and for people I don't want to do, pays bills for ridulous items I'm told I need, then I watch the news or read the paper each evening after dinner and before I know it, BAM!, it's time to head to bed in order to have enough energy to complete the same routine the following day!! Why?

Does anyone have any suggestions? I am barely surviving my job as it is, let alone after I complete my hike. How will I survive in such a stupid world after such a simple life? I know, I know!!! I will go to the Dr. and eat some PILLS, and that will make me better. But, oh, the first PILLS induced serious vomiting and so I'll have to take another PILL to help with my serious spasming stomach. But wait, then the stomach PILL causes me to go blind and there's nothing that can be done about that. Hell. Well, at least I'll be able to survive, right?

I'm just so bitter these days...

Dawg

dionalaniz
11-06-2003, 00:47