PDA

View Full Version : Rainbow users -- I need help

mellow mountain
09-14-2007, 20:46
I'm hoping that some of you can help me.

I'm relatively new to backpacking. I have a Rainbow, have only used it a few times but like it a lot. I'm trying to get my gear together for a major section hike in 2008. I have a Gregory "G" pack which I'm trying to use to keep my weight down -- I just can't figure out how to pack this tent efficiently. I've tried to pack it on top of my sleeping bag but the top cross bar, which seems to be not removable is really wider than the pack and I'm afraid of tearing the fabric. Packing the tent in its bag with the poles vertically might work but really doesn't seem comfortable.

Maybe I need a new backpack? Not sure, but would like to hear from others about how they pack this tent, and what types of packs they use.

Thanks.

Mellow

Appalachian Tater
09-14-2007, 21:59
I keep it on the outside of my pack vertically. Unless the design has changed, the cross bar is easily removable if you want to go that route instead.

bigcranky
09-15-2007, 07:10
You might consider carrying the Rainbow vertically in one of the side pockets of your G-pack, if it'll fit. I usually end up carrying my tarp in a side pocket because I don't like putting a wet shelter inside my pack. (Yes, even with a pack liner, things can still get pretty wet.)

I also was of the understanding that the cross-bar was removable. You might drop Henry a note at Tarptent, and ask.

The Will
09-15-2007, 16:10
I pack the tent vertically without use of the stuff sack. This make the tent somewhat more "fluid" as opposed to being a discreet bundle (within the stuff sack) and allows it to act as a filler within the pack.

The pack I have used with this shelter is the Deuter ACT Lite 40+10. Capacity is roughly 2700 cu. in.

orangebug
09-16-2007, 07:26