PDA

View Full Version : Big Agnus Sleeping System

Goosegrass
09-15-2007, 19:11
I’m fairly new to WhiteBlaze and planning to attempt a thru-hike in 2009. I have some experience hiking on the southern part of the AT and on various trails between the GSMNP and Asheville NC. I’ve slept in both tents and hammocks and experienced both the positives and negatives of each and decided to use a tent on my 2009 hike. I’m also going to replace my synthetic sleeping bag with a down sleeping bag. I’ve researched down bags and like the Western Mountaineering bags. I’ll be using a Big Agnes Insulated Air Core pad with whichever bag I choose.

My question has to do with the Big Agnes sleeping bags. Their concept seems to make sense with all the insulation on top and none on the bottom—your pad provides the insulation on the bottom. Has anyone used this system on their AT hike and if so, how did it work? Thanks in advance for your help.

generoll
09-15-2007, 20:45
I'd like to hear from someone that has used the Big Agnes bag and pad also, hence the bump on this thread.

Joe8484
09-15-2007, 21:40
Im using the Big Agnes Yampa 40 bag and the insulated pad on my trip thursday. I'll fill everyone in once I get back.

Frolicking Dinosaurs
09-15-2007, 22:03
I've used the BA insulated pad and a quilt on some really cold nights. I stayed toasty.

Goosegrass
09-16-2007, 12:32
Likewise, I used a BA insulated pad and a Speer down blanket during a September-October trip in the North Carolina mountains last year. I also wore fleece pants, a long sleeved shirt, and wool socks; and had access to my Marmot PreCip jacket, a lightweight fleece jacket, and a stocking cap. In a tent, this kept me warm into the mid thirties.

I haven’t done a lot of hiking in the summer, but the tentative plan is to just use the insulated pad (mainly for its comfort value) and a blanket when the weather turns warm. I’ll send the sleeping bag home.

generoll
09-16-2007, 19:09