PDA

View Full Version : Weather in October and November through VA and NC.

Earl Grey
09-15-2007, 22:21
What kind of clothes would you bring if you were going south this fall from Harpers Ferry? I looked at the averages for Damascus and Gatlinburg and the average lows were in the high 30s. I have a 40 degree bag and while im up in Maine in August it got to around 40 a couple times and I was fine. For clothes im thinking 2 pairs of shorts, runners tights to sleep in and maybe some thick capilene. Probably throw in rain jacket and pants.

The Solemates
09-15-2007, 22:41
that set up sounds like it will work okay. you may want to take something to cut the wind as well, and definitely include a hat and gloves.

Jerm
09-15-2007, 23:01
hey man, if things don't cool down and we have a warm fall that sounds all right. but i have been in the grayson highlands, which are about 40 miles north of damascus, in the middle of october and it was in the teens. you got to consider that the towns the lows are coming from are at a much lower elevation. here is a link to weather in the smokys. i could not find history, but check out the difference in low temps b/w 1600' and 6400' http://www.srh.noaa.gov/productview.php?pil=RTPMRX

it will probably get cooler and you will have below freezin nights. i would add some sort of light insulation, especially if you plan on sticking with the 40 degree bag, you could wear it to sleep to complement your bag. i carry a montbell thermawrap jacket.

i would ditch the pants, the running tights under your shorts would be your long pants, however i do like the idea of some wind pants. i usually wear shorts to around the low 30's, then i carry a pair of capilene long johns and a pair of golite reed pants to block the wind around camp.

as well as a little fleece hat and some fleece glove liners.

orangebug
09-16-2007, 07:21