PDA

View Full Version : Catskills - 4 day trip

wincheck
09-18-2007, 12:55
Trying to plan a trip in the Catskills - 4 days - 3 nights. 50 miles or so. 10-15-15-10. This is my first time heading over there.

So my question is - does anyone have any advice for a satisfying 4 day jaunt in the Catskills? Perhaps on the Long Path?

Thanks!

FYI - The AMC guidebook is very frustrating - some of the trails (mostly sections of the Long Path) are described South-North while others are described North-South. None of the trail descrips give reverse mileage. Bah.

MOWGLI
09-18-2007, 13:12
Trying to plan a trip in the Catskills - 4 days - 3 nights. 50 miles or so. 10-15-15-10. This is my first time heading over there.

So my question is - does anyone have any advice for a satisfying 4 day jaunt in the Catskills? Perhaps on the Long Path?

Thanks!

FYI - The AMC guidebook is very frustrating - some of the trails (mostly sections of the Long Path) are described South-North while others are described North-South. None of the trail descrips give reverse mileage. Bah.

The NY NJ Trail Conference has a Long Path book. Suggest you buy it. The Long Path would be a fine selection to hike. You could always strat south of the Catskills. Say at the Bashakill, or in the Gunks.

taildragger
09-18-2007, 13:12
You could do the devils path both ways (18,000' in elevation, or so they've told me, and I think its 26 miles one way).

Appalachian Tater
09-18-2007, 13:26
The NY NJ Trail Conference has a Long Path book. Suggest you buy it. The Long Path would be a fine selection to hike. You could always strat south of the Catskills. Say at the Bashakill, or in the Gunks.