PDA

View Full Version : how did you get started? what does it do for you?

loadoffannie
09-19-2007, 22:43
hello, newbie here. i am just curious: how did you first get into hiking/backpacking? is there someone who introduced you to it? why do you think you were drawn to it? what has helped you most in developing your trail skills/smarts (a book? another person?) ? personally, i tend to be a very anxious/neurotic person. i've recently started longer hikes and i swear, nothing - no drug or therapist - has been more helpful than a hard treck through the woods. what a great and calming feeling, man.

SGT Rock
09-19-2007, 22:54
My family started me.

hopefulhiker
09-19-2007, 22:59
I was introduced to camping and short backpacking trips, went to Philmont and also hiked on a supported trip as a kid on the AT.. Back then I told myself that one day I would hike the whole thing...

Jester2000
09-19-2007, 23:12
I never backpacked or spent any time in the woods until I was an adult living in Arizona. The calming feeling you mentioned was what I was going for. I spent some time in the desert and north in the woods, but the trip that sucked me in was being in Organ Pipe National Monument on a clear still night when the moon was full, Mars was up, and the Hale-Bopp Comet was going by, so bright that you could see the colors in the tail with the naked eye.

That was a trip.

It was before a lot of info was online, and there were a couple of books I looked through, but mostly I made my own stupid mistakes and learned from them. Later I met folks, many of whom are on this site, and they taught me quite a bit.

Good luck, and welcome.

Nightwalker
09-20-2007, 01:27
I hiked with the scouts as a kid, but just day hikes out from a base camp. I got into backpacking as an adult after a couple of stupid strokes.