PDA

View Full Version : Trail report -- Springer

BlackAndGold
09-21-2007, 12:07
Parked at Amicolola Park around 9 AM on Tuesday. Was the first to sign in at the visitor center for a day hike that day. I've done a ton of day hiking given my relatively young age, but I'm fairly new to backpacking, so the purpose of this day hike was to see what kind of milage I was capable of, as well as to try out some new equipment I bought. Of course, that is aside from the primary goal of summitting Springer Mtn and seeing the start of the trail I hope to hike someday.

I'll get the equipment details out of the way in this paragraph, so skip if you're not interested in equipment. Jansport Big Bear 5000 pack. Not what I'd normally take on a short trip because of its size, but like I said I'd like to try it out before trusting it for longer duty. It performed well, albiet in good weather -- fit great on the hips, didn't require any adjusting on the trail, I was ecstatic that a $90 pack performed so well. Used a 100 oz Platypus water bladder. Was the first bladder I've used, and I now consider it a virtual must-have for longer hikes -- I went so much faster since I didn't have to stop walking to take a drink. The temp that day was hovering around 80 degrees, so I did a fair amount of drinking, but had no problems. Clip to the collar was convenient. Did not use trekking poles (I have young knees) and didn't really need the other stuff I packed as part of my backpack trial.