PDA

View Full Version : Good Multitool?

musicwoman
09-21-2007, 14:34
Hi,

I'm a newbie and am at least a year or 2 from attempting the great AT, so I wanted to do a few days here and there to get used to it all (Harriman/Bear Mountain area). I was wondering if you could recommend a good multi-tool for the trail. I know some people take a singlebladed knife or small Swiss Army type tool. I know a few hikers that swear by the Leatherman Micra (apparently, the full size leatherman is quite heavy).

Any thought?

Thanks!!

SGT Rock
09-21-2007, 14:42
I really like the Leatherman Micra.

The Weasel
09-21-2007, 14:46
I really like the Leatherman Micra.

Believe it or not, the most effective is the tiny Swiss knife with just a blade and a file/screwdriver. If you're carrying a minimum of gear, that's all you need.

If you're carrying much more that needs repair, and you know you can do the repairs, a Micra is useful.

TW

SGT Rock
09-21-2007, 14:51
Well I sort of disagree. In a move to go lighter and smaller I got one of those. After numerous hikes I miss the slightly (but not by much) larger blade and much better set of scissors that were on my micra.

sparky2000
09-21-2007, 14:55
What's the need? Do u have line to cut? - bring a small toe clippers. Do u have a bear to fight? - bring a walking stick that the bear will mistake for a rifle.

The Weasel
09-21-2007, 15:00
Well I sort of disagree. In a move to go lighter and smaller I got one of those. After numerous hikes I miss the slightly (but not by much) larger blade and much better set of scissors that were on my micra.

My toenails aren't as nasty as yours, Rock. I have NICE toenails. Normal knives work on them. Just because you find the Micra works as well as the hedgeclippers you always had to carry doesn't mean the rest of us have nails made of Kevlar. :eek:

Sheesh. Army guys allus wanna go for equipment overload. Like they needed it, or sumpin. Sheesh. :D

TW

Tabasco
09-21-2007, 15:00