PDA

View Full Version : Big Agnes meets Henessey

Toothless
09-25-2007, 18:16
Anybody have any experience using a Big Agnes insulated bag with a HH?
Toothless

BillyBob58
09-25-2007, 18:22
Toothless

I don't, but my friend used the Zirkel and an insulated air mat (15*) in a HH on our recent Olympic National Park trip. He voiced no complaints, annd seemed pretty satisfied. I'll ask him for more details later.

crinklroot
09-25-2007, 19:47
I've been using them together for about five years and really like the combination. Couple of things to think about: to keep warm at your sides where the hammock may wrap around you and compress the bag's insulation beyond the sleeping pad's width...think about some extra clothing stuffed at your sides as insulation...also been adding a sleeve of fleece over the mattress to cut possible condensation.

Egads
09-25-2007, 20:03
I have used a small thermarest Z-Lite sideways to cover my shoulders & arms where the hammock wraps around me. This underneath another pad running long ways in the hammock. It gives a little extra R value at my torso too.

Egads

RadioFreq
09-26-2007, 13:02
Toothless

That is exactly what I use. What's your question?

:) T Minus 17.25 months...and counting :)

Toothless
09-26-2007, 17:13
Is there anything I should be aware of when using BA with HH? Like inflation, etc.?

RadioFreq
09-26-2007, 17:30
Is there anything I should be aware of when using BA with HH? Like inflation, etc.?

I have a Walmart CCF pad (full length) that fits quite nicely in my BA. One of the problems I first encountered with my HH was keeping the pad and the sleeping bag aligned when I crawled in. Switching to the BA solved that as the pad and bag become one unit.