PDA

View Full Version : What to do with sleeping bag?...

Socrates
09-28-2007, 02:57
Ok so I have a 15 degree Western Mountaineering sleeping bag but this year, I found it to be too warm sometimes in early March in GA... Sooo for next year, should I hang on to it and just dump it for a summer bag as soon as temps get warmer? Or should I get a slightly cooler bag now that will last a bit longer into the season? Whadda yall think?

springerfever
09-28-2007, 05:18
I would go the two bag route. Early March in Georgia can also see temperatures in the teens , so your current WM bag would be perfect.
So many other factors fit into comfort level at particular temperatures,
such as food intake, extra clothing, metabolism, fatigue...I would rather err
on the warm side.

Pick-up another quality bag (such as WM) with a 30 degree or so rating and you'll be in great shape and save some weight to boot. Quilts are also nice!!

Marta
09-28-2007, 07:09
Quilts are also nice!!

Most of the time I unzip my sleeping bag and use it as a quilt. Only on those special, coldest-of-the-trip nights do I zip it up. For example, on the JMT this summer, I think I zipped up two or three nights out of the 20. So...could I have gotten away with a higher-rating bag? Probably. But I would have had two very miserable nights.

Gray Blazer
09-28-2007, 07:24
Bring it to the FL gathering. I'll trade you something for it.

LIhikers
09-28-2007, 09:07
Who knows what kind of weather next year will bring. I'd say keep it for the start and finish of your hike and have a less warm bag for the middle.

SGT Rock
09-28-2007, 09:10
Most of the time I unzip my sleeping bag and use it as a quilt. Only on those special, coldest-of-the-trip nights do I zip it up. For example, on the JMT this summer, I think I zipped up two or three nights out of the 20. So...could I have gotten away with a higher-rating bag? Probably. But I would have had two very miserable nights.