PDA

View Full Version : Weekend Hike North from Harper's Ferry

queary82
10-03-2007, 02:16
Next weekend I will be doing a three day trip starting from Harper's Ferry. This is my first time doing miles on the AT, so I am hoping some of you may help me with some of my questions/concerns. Right now the plan is to find a place to park my car in Harper's Ferry and hike up to either Crampton Gap Shelter or Rocky Run Shelter(depending on which one I can get to Saturday night) and hike back to my car Sunday night or Monday morning.
My first problem is where to stay Friday night. I am driving up after work and it will take me about three hours to get there(I'm in southern Maryland). By the time I get there and depending on traffic around DC, I won't have much daylight left to play with. Will there be any problems finding a place to camp out for that first night?
The other problem is the water situation. I see that everything is drying up and water is a big concern on the AT right now. Does anyone know if I will be able to find any water sources on this portion of the trail? If there isn't any, I have 3L and 2L camelback's that I can drag with me, as well as a nalgene bottle. Will that be enough water for a 2+ day hike or do I need to bring even more? Thanks in advance.

Alan

Newb
10-03-2007, 13:39
Stay at the Hilltop house hotel in HF. Tell them you want the hiker rate (40.00 I think).

There is water in Crampton gap from a water pump...ice cold and good.
In one day you can make it easily to crampton Gap. Take time to stop and see the Weverton cliffs after you climb up from Weverton.

I heard a rumor that Rocky Run was out for repairs/rebuild.

Shiraz-mataz
10-03-2007, 14:21
Hey! Another southern Marylander! I'm a neighbor from Leonardtown. do you work on base?