PDA

View Full Version : Contrail vs Rainbow?

earthbound
10-04-2007, 17:11
I need help deciding which to get for my upcoming AT hike. The weight of the Contrail is appealing, but I would like to hear from people who have used one or the other, or both! Does the pole in the Rainbow help with stability and ease of set-up?

earthbound
10-04-2007, 17:23
also throw in the six moons designs Lunar solo for debate/ comparison.

Appalachian Tater
10-04-2007, 17:37
The Rainbow is easy to set up, very stable, very roomy, semi-freestanding so it works on a platform.

rafe
10-04-2007, 17:48
What Tater said but with a caveat... both tents are single-walled, and are prone to issues with condensation. Aside from that, no problems with the Rainbow that I used on my last section hike.

Appalachian Tater
10-04-2007, 17:51
Since I have no experience with a double-wall tent, let me ask: The second wall is mosquito netting, right? How does that prevent condensation?!?

As I've said before, I have only ever had mild condensation and it was not a problem at all.

earthbound
10-04-2007, 17:53
Tator- did you use the Rainbow on your thru?

rafe
10-04-2007, 17:56
Since I have no experience with a double-wall tent, let me ask: The second wall is mosquito netting, right? How does that prevent condensation?!?

As I've said before, I have only ever had mild condensation and it was not a problem at all.

In a double-wall tent, the non-breathable (rain-blocking) layer is the outermost layer, usually a few inches above the netting. Double-wall tents have much better ventilation, which prevents most condensation. To the extent that condensation does form, it's not likely to end up dripping on you.

Appalachian Tater
10-04-2007, 18:00
Rainbow dripped on you?? How does the double wall tent have better ventilation? Rainbow has one (maybe two now?) top vents, is open all the way around the bottom, and has a huge door that you can leave up partway even in the rain. I'm trying to understand this.