PDA

View Full Version : Bringing a total beginner (of the female variety)

Bootstrap
10-06-2007, 13:54
I'm interested in bringing a total beginner with me, my girlfriend, who has done a fair amount of hiking, likes the outdoors, is not squeamish, but is a little cautious and is too small to carry a large pack. We'll probably do a first backpacking trip in the Spring.

Any hints?

Jonathan

P.S., I would have posted this in the Females forum, but it looks like guys aren't supposed to post there?

Phreak
10-06-2007, 14:01
I took my wife on her first trip a few years ago. I kept it simple and focused on her having a great time. I also made sure it wasn't too far of a hike back to the car in case she decided she was ready to leave sooner than planned.

I had her carry a day pack with some water and snacks and I carried everything else for the trip.

Good luck and hope it goes well for you.

fehchet
10-06-2007, 14:05
So it went OK?

KirkMcquest
10-06-2007, 14:07
Just some ideas;

a. Don't take her on too tough a hike right away, because she might get turned off to the whole thing.
b. plan someplace really pretty with plenty of solitude to overnight, nice views, the whole nine yards ( chicks dig that stuff).
c. Plan at least one surprise i.e a bottle of wine, her favorite food, etc.

Smile
10-06-2007, 15:15
Regardless of her size, she can certainly carry a pack, they make smaller women's sizes :)

I hope you guys have a great time, she'll probably really like it once she gets used to being "out there" and meeting all the cool people you'll likely run into.

Bootstrap
10-06-2007, 19:10
Regardless of her size, she can certainly carry a pack, they make smaller women's sizes :)