PDA

View Full Version : MRSA Running rampant on A.T. -- Hikers Beware!!

rem1536
10-17-2007, 10:17
Everyone in my group got MRSA Staph infections after our A.T. trip. I tried to stay as sanitary as possible, and I still got it.

Has anyone else experienced this? I was on the Georgia/Southern N.C. section in July.

rem1536
10-17-2007, 10:21
Google MRSA and do a little research. It's some scary stuff.

Here's an article from cnn.com about it.
http://www.cnn.com/2007/HEALTH/conditions/10/16/mrsa.cdc.ap/index.html

shelterbuilder
10-17-2007, 10:22
Everyone in my group got MRSA Staph infections after our A.T. trip. I tried to stay as sanitary as possible, and I still got it.

Has anyone else experienced this? I was on the Georgia/Southern N.C. section in July.

I'm no expert, but I would suspect that someone in your group had already been exposed to it immediately before the trip.

Appalachian Tater
10-17-2007, 10:39
MRSA is serious and hospitals have had to close units but there are tons of healthy people walking around carrying it. However, this is the first time I have heard about it being a problem on the A.T. A phrase like "MRSA Running rampant on A.T. -- Hikers Beware!!" is overdramatic. It's pretty much running rampant everywhere and recent information indicates that the problem has been underestimated. The common cold is running rampant on the A.T. as well.

Certainly tick-borne diseases pose a more frequent and serious threat to the average hiker and it is a problem that does not seem to be taken very seriously by very many.

Your point about good hygiene is well-taken. Children used to learn hygiene and physical health in school, I have seen the textbooks, but I don't think they do anymore. In 2006 there was at least one hiker who was hiking the ENTIRE trail without bathing. That is asking for trouble.

fitz
10-17-2007, 10:46